Pro Bowl Roster Announced with Few Surprises

The Pro Bowl roster was announced by the NFL today and as it is every year you tend to concentrate on those who have been snubbed. For instance Aaron Rogers, Champ Bailey and Larry Fitzgerald were not selected with Aaron Rogers probably being the biggest snub of them all.

The very disappointing Dallas Cowboys who will host this year’s Super Bowl and who were planning to play in it still managed to send 5 players to the Pro Bowl 4 of which will be starters. Center Andre Gurode, Punter Mat McBriar, DT Jay Ratliff, LB DeMarcus Ware, TE Jason Witten all made the Grade

The Altanta Falcons are sending 7 to the Pro Bowl this year including QB Matt Ryan. No surprise that this year’s best surprise Michael Vick was named the starting QB for the NFC, while his biggest challenger to the NFL MVP Tom Brady will start for the AFC

The NFL has declared the experiment of playing the Pro Bowl a week before the Super Bowl a success, announcing today that in 2011, the Pro Bowl will be played one week before the Super Bowl for the second consecutive year. As previously announced, the Pro Bowl is moving back to Hawaii in 2011.

“Playing the Pro Bowl before the Super Bowl generated more excitement and interest in the event and also kicked off Super Bowl week in an innovative new way,” NFL Senior VP of Events Frank Supovitz said in a statement. “We are pleased to return to the State of Hawaii, which has embraced the Pro Bowl for 30 years.”

Short URL:

Leave a Comment